A young family of adventurers living by the sea

Friday, 29 May 2015

Friday Reads: What To Read After Girl On The Train.

Today will be a bit different to my normal Friday Reads. I'm normally reviewing a book or doing a top 5 but today I'm going to talk about crime books. Well actually what you can read to fill that Girl On The Train shaped hole now you've recovered from that amazing twist!

I reviewed Girl On The Train way back in January. It was one of those books that blew my mind then and it's still one I am raving about to customers months on. And not many books make me feel like that so it's a good one. One thing I do get asked on my shifts though is what they can read next. So here's 5 suggestions to get you going.



Disclaimer (Renee Knight) - I mean first of all it has a sticker on it saying if you liked GOTT then you will love this. And it's true! When a novel appears on a woman's bedside she is intrigued. Until she see's the disclaimer about it being based on fiction crossed out and the story to be very much like her own life. Who has written this story, what do they want and more importantly, what do they know.

What She Left (T.R Richmond) - When Alice dies no one knows why. Was she killed, was it an accident, was it suicide? A professor goes on a journey to discover who she was and what she left behind in a series of newspaper articles, facebook messages, texts and letters. It's amazing to discover what type of digital footprint someone can leave. But she ends up leaving behind a twisted tale.

How I Lost You (Jenny Blackhurst) - Emma Cartwright was told that three years ago she murdered her son. She doesn't remember it but knows that she wasn't the type of person to murder someone. One day after release, she receives a letter with a photograph of a toddler with her son's name on it. He can't be alive though, she was told that she killed him.

Before I Go To Sleep (S J Watson) - If you haven't read or heard of this book then you've been living under a rock. One of the most highly anticipated films of 2014, starring Colin Firth and Nicole Kidman. This tells the tale of Christine, a woman that forgets everything the moment her head hits the pillow. She doesn't know who she is or where she is. Her husband has to spend each morning reminding her, so she's started to keep a diary. But some things just don't seem to add up.

Dangerous Girls (Abigail Haas) - A teen fiction book but don't discredit it on that. 4 friends go to another country for spring break, but one of the girls ends up dead. What happens next is a dark and twisted tale of lies, truths and fighting for innocence in a country where you don't speak their language and they are adamant you are guilty and dangerous.
SHARE:

No comments

Post a Comment

Blogger Template Created by pipdig